I’m back!

Hi everyone. I’m sorry I dissappeared for a while. Where was I?

 

I dropped off the radar just before Zimbabwe’s elections. A lot has happened personally since then, but like most other Zimbos, I got a little depressed. I got so caught up in the country’s politics I couldn’t focus on much else. At the same time, I got was getting a bit of radio time because of articles I had written on both Zimbabwe and other issues.

 

I have pretty much come to terms with the fact that change in Zimbabwe is not going to come about through a political process but a social movement. There will come a time when people just decide that enough is enough and we want to build something better. That may happen before or after Bob (Mugabe) goes, but the truth is tht he is just part of the problem.

 

The biggest issue in Zimbabwe is the same one that gets in the way of progress in Ireland, in the United States, in China,… everywhere. Self interest. And not just the self interest of the ruling classes. All of us. We are all so consumed with getting an iPhone or a Macbook (I’m an Apple fan), or a new car or house or just protecting our persona space and security. We are all so concerned with our own issues that we don’t fight for others. So much so that we allow injustice to reign.

 

In the words of Matin Niemoller:

When the Nazis came for the communists,
I remained silent;
I was not a communist.

When they locked up the social democrats,
I remained silent;
I was not a social democrat.

When they came for the trade unionists,
I did not speak out;
I was not a trade unionist.

When they came for the Jews,
I remained silent;
I wasn’t a Jew.

When they came for me,
there was no one left to speak out

 

I think that when people start sacrificing heir personal interests for the sake of the general good, then things will really start to change. Otherwise, the changes will only be superficial.

5 responses to “I’m back!

  1. scotchcart

    Time to get in and help, Tsuro!

    You’ve been missing out! We have been chasing the An Yue Jiang and keeping diplomats, politicians and journalists on their toes.

    As of now, the An Yue Jiang is in a queue of ships at Luanda. Will they unload? Won’t they? We need to keep the eyes of the press and the embassies on that ship? We want to make sure no one airlifts those weapons to Zim and if they do we have the evidence to swiftly arrest them and confiscate their assets under EU law!

    As of today, it is not clear whether presidential results have been announced or whether something was said as bait to catch the unwary fish. International press have announced the results as a fact rather than a process still subject to some arithmetical checking – get on to the journalists and ask them if the announcement is final and if so who made it and what date is the runoff. The announcement would have been followed by a date.

    Jump in Tsuro – we need men and women of action!

    Start putting out

  2. Clyde MacPayne

    Tsuro, I believe you have said it all… sad, but true. We, all of us, are so caught up in “what’s in it for me” that we give little thought to the wishes and needs of others.

    Of course, the focus in Zim right now is Mugabe and his supporters because their wishes are fulfilled by the power of batons and guns and what the authorities call “law”.

    Democracy is in the balance, teetering on the brink of destruction. Who cares who is in power, as long as it’s the peoples’ choice.

    But, I do see that there are those who are giving themselves for the sake of others. Like the peaceful women demonstrators who were attacked by police and thugs. They knew they were putting themselves in danger, but they did it for all of Zim… they did it for democracy.

    Let your voice be heard, Tsuro, that those who give themselves do so not in vain.

  3. Hi there, stumbled upon your blog during my meanderings… the poem is really powerful. Your post echoes my thougths, and I hope you know that despite what is going down in South Africa right now, the majority of us are there for Zim, and some of us are doing our bit for social revolution – and I mean that in the purest sense.

  4. Hey. Chin up bru. Our leaders can’t kill us. Ubuntu to you.

Leave a Reply

