Samantha Power

I really like Samantha Power. Why? Well, we have some things in common. She was born and spent her early childhood in Ireland. I guess that makes me feel like I can sort of relate to her.

More importantly though, she’s really, really smart, and she is an incredibly impressive person. She’s one of those people whose sheer intellect hits you the moment she says just about anything. There is a sense gravity about her I respect. She is one of those people you want to listen to because you know they are going to say something important.

What draws me most to this lady though is that she is obviously dedicated to bringing about social change and making the world a better place. She has chosen academia and her writing (Pulitzer Prize winner) as her platforms, and from what I can tell, has used them to great effect.

There’s something special about people who decide that they are going to live for something more than just their own material comfort. There is something even more special about those who through hard work make the most of their talents and gifts. This lady seems to do both.

Although I don’t agree with all of her views, she is very definitely someone I look up to. As soon as I am done with my Mbeki book, I am going to start reading her latest book, Chasing the Flame.

Leave a Reply

