Breakthrough

I’ve been struggling these last few days. I got my first cheque from my writing not too long ago and it felt great! It was only a few hundred Euros, but it felt good to be earning again. The only thing is that I now felt quite a bit of pressure to at least maintain that income. Coincidentally, that was the time I seemed to hit a brick wall in terms of creative inspiration. It never rains…

So I was getting pretty worked up. I’ve even neglected this blog a bit. I was too preoccupied to keep this going at full pace. It was all a little much and I was wondering whether I really had a future as a writer. Reading about Mbeki’s writing prowess and general brilliance didn’t help either. It left me feeling more than a little jealous and a bit pathetic. I know, a little over the top.

Anyway, I was in the library today to do a little reading. Being the great procrastinator that I am, I decided to start by going through the newspaper. I found an article there I disagreed with so strongly that I whipped out my laptop and in about three quarters of an hour had my first draft done. I’ll polish it up over the weekend and email it to the boss on Sunday evening.

I literally feel like there’s a weight that has been lifted off my shoulders. Now I can deal with all the things I’ve let slide. And in a couple of days, I can start to worry about the next article. My life certainly isn’t boring!

4 responses to “Breakthrough

  1. The way I see it, there’s nothing like a little pressure to get the creative juices flowing. Well, it certainly seems to be the case for a lot of people. I don’t know how many times I’ve heard someone (or even myself) say “I produce my best work when I’m backed into a corner”. So good for you. There’s nothing better than that feeling you get after completing something you’ve been putting off for some time.

  2. DymeGee, I’m really, really , REALLY curious! What do you do for a living? I don’t think bloggers are supposed to ask stuff like that ( don’t want to scare people away), but I can’t help myself. Given the choice, I would rather have a conversation than rant, or make a speech. So my friend, what do you do? What part of the world are you from? What’s kind of movies are you into?

    My guesses? You’re a successful writer, lawyer or spy (don’t ask). Am I right or am I right?

  3. Hahahaha! Well, I could be a spy, but then I couldn’t exactly tell you that without blowing my cover now could I? Actually, a friend of mine told me about your blog and I decided to check it out and I found it very interesting which is why I keep coming back (unfortunately I don’t always have all the time in the world to read all of your entries but I try). I am actually a university student living in the west but not originally from there. So I feel like I can kind of relate to some of your experiences. As for movies, well, some of my favourite titles include Antwone Fisher, Lean on Me and The Pursuit of Happiness just to name a few. I hope that helps ease your curiosity a bit.

  4. I own a copy of The Pursuit of Happyness – I watch it when I need inspiration!

    Thanks so much for reading and contributing to this blog when you could do so much more with your time.

    If you don’t mind me asking, what are you studying? And what have been the hardest challenges of living in the west?

Leave a Reply

