This is going to be a great week!

A couple of years ago, I shared a house with some friends. It was great. It was like going to your buddies’ place to hang out over the weekend without ever having to go home. We ended up being in each other’s business a lot but incredibly, we never really suffocated each other.

One of the things the three of us did was go to a gym in the morning together. Because work generally starts at 0800 in Zimbabwe, we’d have to get out of bed by about 0545. Staying up till 0200 playing FIFA on Playstation didn’t really help. And yes, Playstation is alive and well in sub-Saharan Africa.

We found that if we repeated, ‘today is going to be a great day’- despite being groggy and with eyes half shut –  more often than not that’s how things worked out. The days we didn’t perform our ritual normally turned out badly on the gym front at least.

I know it sounds very ‘self help’ and unoriginal, but the truth is the truth, even when it isn’t fly. The things we say tend to alter our perception and our feelings are all about perception.

With that in mind, THIS IS GOING TO BE A GREAT WEEK! You’re welcome to join in.

2 responses to “This is going to be a great week!

  1. I like to think that I can predict whether or not I’ll have a good day or a bad day based on what happens in the first hour or so that I’m awake. If I get to the bathroom and find that someone forgot to replace the roll of toilet paper or realize that I can’t have a bowl of cereal because there’s no more milk, I usually conclude that it’s not going to be the best day. On the other hand, finding a clean bathroom or leaving the house at a reasonable time means a good day lies ahead. These conclusions however make me wonder how big of a role my conscious decision to have a good or a bad day really affects how the day will turn out.

  2. That wouldn’t work for me. It takes me a little while to get going. I like to think of the day getting better as it goes on. Having said that, I must admit that being irritated at the start makes it tough to see the bright side of things.

Leave a Reply

