Blowin’ in the Wind

“How many roads must a man walk down
Before you call him a man?” – Bob Dylan

 

Blowin’ in the Wind is a special song. I’m not sure what exactly it means to be honest. Every time I listen to it though, I’m lifted. I’m inspired and filled with hope. It’s the kind of song that can make you feel like David, and leave you knowing that eventually, you win, and Goliath goes down! When I hear Blowin’ in the Wind, it’s as though I’m at an antiVietnam rally or a civil rights march or some other significant event in the 60s and 70s. It makes me think about injustice and extents to which people have had to go to have their rights, sometimes their very humanity, acknowledged. And I get inspired.

 

I needed to hear the song over and over and over again today. I needed to remind myself that everything works out in the end. I feel like a blind man on a journey. I know I need to get somewhere. I know there is a destination and I’ll know when I arrive, but I have no idea how to get there. I’m in unfamiliar territory and to be honest, I’m not even sure I’m going in the right direction. I would call it a mid-life crisis, only I’m not old enough to have one of those just yet.

 

I’m frightened. I’m terrified that unlike Dylan and people like him, my life won’t make a difference. It’s not enough to be part of the rat race and to ‘get ahead’. I need to matter. I need to do something significant with my life otherwise what was the point of my having been here in the first place?

 

I think I’ve figured out why Blowin’ in the Wind means so much to me. The song is a reminder of how much still needs to be made right. It’s a reminder of all the ways I can matter.

 

2 responses to “Blowin’ in the Wind

  1. Hey man, I just read this. Though it’s a little late, I’ll still leave my comment here.

    Everything is temporal, so is our failure and even success! What we can do is cherish what we have and continue to fight to keep it. Everything bad will pass away, and when the wind is blowing in our direction, then our time will come!

  2. You’re right man. It’s all a question of time and timing. As always, thanks man!

Leave a Reply

