The Planning-Doing Gap

Apparently there’s a really good book out called The Knowing-Doing Gap. I’ve been meaning to get a copy but I haven’t got around to it yet. It’s a great title though, isn’t it? I can definately relate!

Today, I bought a book on Photoshop CS3 and one on Dreamweaver CS3. I decided that I was going to teach myself how to design websites and try to make a living doing that (ambitious, I know). Everything was going as planned until I got the books and ran out of excuses! Now, I’m overwhelmed by this mountain I have to climb. It is so, so much easier to dream and plan than it is to do.

Having said all that, I know it will be okay. I’ll eventaully get over the dread that has gripped me and I’ll be fine. I’m going to try to learn as much as I can everyday. I’m sure I’ll have some bad days, but all in all, I’ll get through it. One day at a time.

Still, if I could ‘do’ half as well as I ‘plan’, I can just imagine what great things I’d have accomplished by now. 

Leave a Reply

