I’m walking away

My wife says I’ve always been a non-conformist. That surprises me because I hate sticking out. Don’t get me wrong, I like attention as much as the next guy, but I don’t like sticking out too much. I’m happiest when I’m in a group and feel like we’re all going in the same direction. You know how most normal people grow out of wanting to change the world and become realists? That hasn’t happened to me.

Of my friends, the one I look up to most went to law school and tried to set up a business when he graduated. It’s been 3 years now, he’s moved back into his folks’ house, but he’s still determined. The reason? I guess he’s just really stubborn and has decided to walk away from the rat race most of our other friends are in. I guess he just can’t handle being a comodity in some manager or director’s eyes. Since he can’t live in their world, he’s trying to create his own. Now maybe, God forbid, he’s an idiot who just doesn’t have a solid grasp on reality. I hope not, because I’m following in his footsteps.

My plan is pretty simple. I love writing and discussing ideas and sharing opinions. So I’m going to try and make a living writing. I’ve also taken up photography and I’m going to teach myself how to design and develop web sites. The plan is that by the end of the year I’ll be able to get by on something that’s birthed out of these activities.

This blog is going to be a record of my journey. Not to mention practice writing and maybe, my very first audience.

Leave a Reply

